Molecular Life Sciences Seminar Schedule

Body

Spring 2021

MLS Seminars will be held virtually this semester. 

January 19, 2021

Mike Kearse
OSU, Department of Biological Chemistry & Pharmacology
Translating outside the box: Mechanisms of atypical translation initiation important in human biology and disease
Host: Federica Accornero, accornero.1@osu.edu

January 26, 2021

Thomas Bebee, MCDB Alumn
Bristol Myers Squibb
One Scientist's Trip: the benefits of the stops along the way from academic research to pharmaceutical market access
Host: Dawn Chandler, dawn.chandler@nationwidechildrens.org

February 2, 2021

Anita Hopper
The Ohio State University
The Lives and Deaths of tRNAs and Their Introns
Host: Dawn Chandler, dawn.chandler@nationwidechildrens.org

March 2, 2021

Cynthia Burrows
University of Utah
Free Radical Oxidation of Guanine in DNA—Mutagenic or Epigenetic?
Host: Yizhou Dong, dong.525@osu.edu

March 9, 2021

Sue Biggins
Fred Hutchinson CRC
Detecting and Correcting Errors in Mitosis
Host: MCDB Students, Jack Evans, evans.2381@osu.edu

March 16, 2021

Debra Silver
Duke
TBD
Host: Guramrit Singh, singh.734@osu.edu

March 23, 2021

Qi Liu
OSBP Alumni Talk
Host: Kurt Fredrick, fredrick.5@osu.edu

March 30, 2021

Shan Zha
Columbia University
TBD
Host: Junran Zhang, junran.zhang@osumc.edu

April 6, 2021

June Nasrallah
Cornell University
TBD
Host: MCDB Students

April 13, 2021

Jesse Bloom
University of Washington
TBD
Host: Amit Sharma, sharma.157@osu.edu

 

Save the Date!

May 21, 2021
Life Sciences IGP Annual Symposium
The Ohio Union

 

The MLS series is the joint seminar series of OSBP and MCDB. Travel arrangements for MLS seminar are by Franci Brink (614-292-1463) and Lauren Pasquale (614-292-2804), who can both be reached at mlsseminar@osu.edu. Schedules are coordinated by the host.  Contact the chair of the MLS Seminar Committee, Guramrit Singh (singh.734@osu.edu), with speaker suggestions and policy questions.  Speaker nominations of Nobel laureates, NAS members, and HHMI investigators are typically granted without further documentation.  Nominations of other speakers doing cutting edge research of broad appeal should include a short justification and CV or similar website link.  We strongly encourage nominations of emerging young investigators, women, and under-represented minorities. We also encourage nominations from MCDB and OSBP graduate students.