Molecular Life Sciences Seminar Schedule

Autumn 2019

The MLS seminar series is a collaboration of the Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology and Ohio State Biochemistry interdisciplinary graduate programs. MLS Seminars are at 4:00 pm in 170 Davis Heart & Lung Research Institute, 473 W. 12th Ave., unless noted.

PDF icon Autumn 2019 MLS Seminar Schedule

August 27, 2019
Harry Warner
OSU Counseling and Consultation Services
Professional Development Seminar: Maintaining Wellness in Graduate School
 
September 3, 2019
Laszlo Tora
Institut de Genetique et de Biologe Moleculaire et Cellulaire
Regulation of RNA polymerase II transcription by general transcription factors and coactivator complexes
Host: Michael Poirier, poirier.18@osu.edu
 
September 10, 2019
Hesham Sadek
UT Southwestern

Redox Regulation of Cardiac Growth and Renewal
Host: Aaron Goldman, Aaron.Goldman@osumc.edu

September 17, 2019
Doug Millay
University of Cincinnati
Mergers and acquisitions: making multinucleated muscle through cell fusion
Host: Federica Accornero, federica.accornero@osumc.edu
 
September 24, 2019
Christophe Herman
Baylor College of Medicine
The inpact of transcription errors on phenotypic inheritance and DNA Break repair
Host: Irina Artsimovitch, artsimovitch.1@osu.edu
 
October 1, 2019
No Seminar (OSU Mass Spectroscopy Conference)
 
October 8, 2019
Dane Wittrup
MIT 
A minimalist protein recognition scaffold
Host: Tom Magliery, magliery.1@osu.edu
 
October 15, 2019
Carla Koehler
UCLA
Manipulating mitochondrial translocation pathways in health and disease
Host: Anita Hopper, hopper.64@osu.edu
 
October 22, 2019
Lee Zou
Massachusetts General Hospital and Dana-Farber Cancer Center
The ATR signaling pathway: from basic research to cancer therapy
Host: Qi-En Wang, wang.771@osu.edu
 
October 29, 2019
John Elrod
Temple University
Metabolic underpinnings of myofibroblast differentiation and fibrosis
Host: Federica Accornero, federica.accornero@osumc.edu
 
November 5, 2019
Harmit Malik
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Rules of engagement: molecular arms-races between host and viral genomes
Host: Shan-Lu Liu, liu.6244@osu.edu
 
November 12, 2019
Rhiju Das
Stanford
De novo design of RNA structure/function
Host: OSBP students; Jacob Bowman, bowman.1334@buckeyemail.osu.edu
 
November 19, 2019
Jon Terman
UT Southwestern
Regulating the actin and microtubule cytoskeletons to control cellular form, function and dysfunction
Host: Anthony Brown, brown.2302@osu.edu
 
November 26, 2018
No Seminar (Thanksgiving Week)
 
December 3, 2019
Hongbin Chi
St. Jude's Childrens Hospital
Systems immunology and metabolic control of adaptive immunity
Host: Ruoning Wang, Ruoning.Wang@nationwidechildrens.org
 
 
Save the Date!
May 19, 2020
Life Sciences IGP Annual Symposium

The Ohio Union

The MLS series is the joint seminar series of OSBP and MCDB. Travel arrangements for MLS seminar are by Franci Brink (614 292-1463) and Lauren Pasquale (614 292-2804), who can both be reached at mlsseminar@osu.edu. Schedules are coordinated by the host.  Contact the chair of the MLS Seminar Committee, Harold Fisk (fisk.13@osu.edu), with speaker suggestions and policy questions.  Speaker nominations of Nobel laureates, NAS members, and HHMI investigators are typically granted without further documentation.  Nominations of other speakers doing cutting edge research of broad appeal should include a short justification and CV or similar website link.  We strongly encourage nominations of emerging young investigators, women, and under-represented minorities. We also encourage nominations from MCDB and OSBP graduate students.

0