Molecular Life Sciences Seminar Schedule

Body

Spring 2022

Seminars are held on Tuesdays at 4-5pm in room 170 Davis Heart & Lung Research Institute (DHLRI).

January 25, 2022

Ed Boyden
MIT
Optical Tools for Analyzing and Controlling Biological Systems
Host: Yizhou Dong, dong.525@osu.edu

February 1, 2022

Rong Li
George Washington School of Medicine & Health Sciences
Breaking Down Cancer Defense Line Against Anti-Tumor Immune Infiltration
Host: Gunjan Agarwal, agarwal.60@osu.edu

February 15, 2022

Wen Tang
The Ohio State University
Birth of germ granules & Death of piRNAs
Host: Guramrit Singh, singh.734@osu.edu

February 22, 2022

Zihai Li
The Ohio State University
Immunological Mechanisms of Sex Bias in Cancer
Host: Tony Brown, brown.2302@osu.edu

March 8, 2022

Brenda Bass
University of Utah 
Divergent Roles of Dicer’s Helicase Domain in Antiviral Defense
Host: Adriana Forero, forero.11@osu.edu

March 22, 2022

E. Dale Abel
University of Iowa
Glucose Metabolism and Heart Failure
Host: OSBP Students, Chathuri Pathirage, pathirage.1@osu.edu

March 29, 2022

Peter Tontonoz
UCLA
New pathways in cellular and systemic lipid transport
Host: Jie Gao, jie.gao@osumc.edu

April 5, 2022

Brian Black
UCSF
Injury-responsive enhancers promote heart regeneration in zebrafish
Host: Mingtao Zhao, Mingtao.Zhao@NationwideChildrens.org

April 12, 2022

Gloria Brar
UC-Berkeley
Unraveling the unconventional molecular circuitry underlying meiosis
Host: Michael Kearse, michael.kearse@osumc.edu

April 19, 2022

Scott Kennedy
Harvard 
poly(UG)-Tailed RNAs in Genome Defense and Epigenetic Inheritance
Host: Wen Tang, tang.542@osu.edu

 

 

Save the Date!

May 23, 2023
Life Sciences IGP Annual Symposium
The Ohio Union

 

The MLS series is the joint seminar series of OSBP and MCDB. Travel arrangements for MLS seminar are by Franci Brink (614-292-1463) , who can be reached at mlsseminar@osu.edu. Schedules are coordinated by the host.  Contact the chair of the MLS Seminar Committee, Guramrit Singh (singh.734@osu.edu), with speaker suggestions and policy questions.  Speaker nominations of Nobel laureates, NAS members, and HHMI investigators are typically granted without further documentation.  Nominations of other speakers doing cutting edge research of broad appeal should include a short justification and CV or similar website link.  We strongly encourage nominations of emerging young investigators, women, and under-represented minorities. We also encourage nominations from MCDB and OSBP graduate students.