Molecular Life Sciences Seminar Schedule

Body

Autumn 2021

Seminars are held on Tuesdays at 4-5pm in room 170 Davis Heart & Lung Research Institute (DHLRI).

September 7, 2021

Nieng Yan
Princeton University
The molecular choreography of Cav/Nav channels--A mission impossible by today's AI
Host: Tianmin Fu, fu.978@osu.edu

September 14, 2021

Sarah Slavoff
Yale University
Dark Matter of the Human Genome
Host: Michael Kearse, michael.kearse@osumc.edu

September 28, 2021

Chuan He
University of Chicago
RNA methylation in gene expression regulation
Host: OSBP Students, Chathuri Pathirage, pathirage.1@osu.edu

October 5, 2021

Arthur Burghes
The Ohio State University
Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA): development of effective therapies bench-to-bedside and what is next
Host: Anthony Brown, brown.2302@osu.edu

October 12, 2021

Avery August
Cornell University
Kinase turntabilism: Tuning T cell responses
Host: MCDB Students

October 19, 2021

Christopher Lima
Sloan Kettering
TBD
Host: OSBP Students, Chathuri Pathirage, pathirage.1@osu.edu

October 26, 2021

Tianmin Fu
The Ohio State University
TBD
Host: Chuck Bell, bell.489@osu.edu

November 2, 2021

Geraldine Seydoux
Johns Hopkins
TBD
Host: Wen Tang, tang.542@osu.edu

November 9, 2021

Jeremy Luban
University of Massachusetts
TBD
Host: Amit Sharma, sharma.157@osu.edu

November 16, 2021

Marlene Belfort
SUNY Albany
TBD
Host: David Wood, wood.750@osu.edu

November 30, 2021

George Shaw
UPenn
TBD
Host: Shan-Lu Liu, liu.6244@osu.edu

December 7, 2021

Jeremy Wilusz
University of Pennsylvania
TBD
Host: OSBP Students, Chathuri Pathirage, pathirage.1@osu.edu

 

Save the Date!

May 24, 2022
Life Sciences IGP Annual Symposium
The Ohio Union

 

The MLS series is the joint seminar series of OSBP and MCDB. Travel arrangements for MLS seminar are by Franci Brink (614-292-1463) , who can be reached at mlsseminar@osu.edu. Schedules are coordinated by the host.  Contact the chair of the MLS Seminar Committee, Guramrit Singh (singh.734@osu.edu), with speaker suggestions and policy questions.  Speaker nominations of Nobel laureates, NAS members, and HHMI investigators are typically granted without further documentation.  Nominations of other speakers doing cutting edge research of broad appeal should include a short justification and CV or similar website link.  We strongly encourage nominations of emerging young investigators, women, and under-represented minorities. We also encourage nominations from MCDB and OSBP graduate students.