Molecular Life Sciences Seminar Schedule

Body

Spring 2020

The MLS seminar series is a collaboration of the Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology and Ohio State Biochemistry interdisciplinary graduate programs. MLS Seminars are at 4:00 pm in 170 Davis Heart & Lung Research Institute, 473 W. 12th Ave., unless noted.

Due to the university guidelines for COVID-19, MLS Seminars have been canceled for the remainder of Spring Semester effective March 10, 2020.

January 14, 2020
Nancy Ratner
University of Cincinnati Children's Hospital
Nervous System Tumorigenesis Requires Tumor Initiation and then Inflammation
Host: Gunjan Agarwal, Gunjan.Agarwal@osumc.edu
 
January 21, 2020
Sean Crosson
Michigan State University
Bacterial adaptation to shifting environments
Host: Mike Ibba and Irina Artsimovitch, Ibba.1@osu.edu; Artsimovitch.1@osu.edu
 
January 28, 2020
Navdeep Chandel
Northwestern University

Mitochondria as signaling organelles controlling physiology and disease
Host: MCDB students, mestres-villanueva.1@buckeyemail.osu.edu 

February 4, 2020
Isabelle Deschenes
The Ohio State University
TBD
Host: Anthony Brown, brown.2302@osu.edu
 
February 11, 2020
Ruma Banerjee
University of Michigan
TBD
Host: Yizhou Dong, dong.525@osu.edu
 
February 18, 2020
TBD
 
February 25, 2020
Natasha Calpen
National Cancer Institute
TBD
Host: Amanda Hummon, hummon.1@osu.edu
 
March 3, 2020
Shiv Grewal
National Cancer Institute
TBD
Host: MCDB students, mestres-villanueva.1@buckeyemail.osu.edu 
 
March 10, 2020
Spring Break, no seminar
 
March 17, 2020- Rescheduled for November 10, 2020
Harvey Lodish
MIT
TBD
Host: Kristine Yoder, Kristine.Yoder@osumc.edu
 
March 24, 2020- Canceled
Debby Silver
Duke
TBD
Host: Amrit Singh, singh.734@osu.edu
 
March 31, 2020- Rescheduled for September 29, 2020
Gaudenz Danuser
UT Southwestern
TBD
Host: Emmanuele Cocucci, cocucci.1@osu.edu
 
April 7, 2020- Canceled
Vincent Pecoraro
University of Michigan
TBD
Host: Jenna Greve, greve.41@buckeyemail.osu.edu
 
April 14, 2020- Canceled
Amy Gladfelter
University of North Carolina
TBD
Host: Jian-Qiu Wu, wu.620@osu.edu
 
 
 
Save the Date!
May 19, 2020
Life Sciences IGP Annual Symposium

The Ohio Union

The MLS series is the joint seminar series of OSBP and MCDB. Travel arrangements for MLS seminar are by Franci Brink (614 292-1463) and Lauren Pasquale (614 292-2804), who can both be reached at mlsseminar@osu.edu. Schedules are coordinated by the host.  Contact the chair of the MLS Seminar Committee, Harold Fisk (fisk.13@osu.edu), with speaker suggestions and policy questions.  Speaker nominations of Nobel laureates, NAS members, and HHMI investigators are typically granted without further documentation.  Nominations of other speakers doing cutting edge research of broad appeal should include a short justification and CV or similar website link.  We strongly encourage nominations of emerging young investigators, women, and under-represented minorities. We also encourage nominations from MCDB and OSBP graduate students.